Bipartisan Climate Solutions Caucus is relaunched in the House

Bipartisan Climate Solutions Caucus is relaunched in the House


Citizens’ Climate Lobby welcomed the relaunch in the House of the bipartisan Climate Solutions Caucus, which held its first meeting in the 116th Congress on Oct. 23 under the leadership of co-chairs Rep. Francis Rooney (R-FL) and Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL).

“The caucus serves as a judgment-free zone where members of both parties can come together and have a productive dialogue about reducing the risk of climate change,” said CCL executive director Mark Reynolds. “It has the potential to be an incubator for bipartisan solutions that stand a good chance of passage.”

Most of the caucus members from the 115th Congress have rejoined the caucus in this Congress. Because more Democrats returned to their seats after the last election, the caucus will no longer be evenly divided along party lines. Going forward, however, new members will join two by two — one Democrat and one Republican — at a time.

In addition to the returning members, two new Republicans have also joined: David Schweikert from Arizona’s 6th District and Rob Woodall from Georgia’s 7th District.

Citizens’ Climate Lobby takes the view that the only viable path forward to solve climate change is with a bipartisan approach, a view shared by caucus co-chair Deutch.

“Americans want Congress to act on climate change. But we’re not going to get anywhere without bipartisan support,” Deutch said. “We have a diverse group of Democrats and Republicans covering many different parts of the country. This caucus reflects our shared belief that to achieve meaningful action on climate change, we must work together, and I look forward to it.”

“The Climate Solutions Caucus is an important, bipartisan venue where members can share ideas and debate the merits of how to best solve the environmental concerns we face as a nation. Sea level rise, carbon emissions, and the overall health of our climate are bipartisan issues, and I am encouraged that there are a growing number of people on both sides of the aisle willing to find solutions,” said Republican co-chair Rooney.

The re-emergence of the Climate Solutions Caucus comes at a time when public concern about climate change is surging.

Earlier this month, Republican pollster Frank Luntz issued a memo to GOP lawmakers saying the party risks losing younger voters who are worried about climate change.

“There’s been a distinct shift in the conversation surrounding climate change in this Congress,” said Danny Richter, CCL VP for government affairs. “More and more Republicans are acknowledging the need to address climate change. The work of the Climate Solutions Caucus over the last couple of years has played a role in that shift.”

Climate solutions caucus membership

Listed in the order they joined


  • Rep. Francis Rooney (FL-19) – Republican co-chair
  • Rep. Lee Zeldin (NY-01)
  • Rep. Mark Amodei (NV-02)
  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01)
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21)
  • Rep. Brian Mast (FL-18)
  • Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02)
  • Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13)
  • Rep. Peter King (NY-02)
  • Rep. Tom Reed (NY-23)
  • Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
  • Rep. David Joyce (OH-14)
  • Rep. Jack Bergman (MI-01)
  • Rep. Matt Gaetz (FL-01)
  • Rep. Fred Upton (MI-06)
  • Rep. Amata Radewagen (AS-00)
  • Rep. Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon (PR-00)
  • Rep. Bill Posey (FL-08)
  • Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY-02)
  • Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
  • Rep. Rob Woodall (GA-07)
  • Rep. David Schweikert (AZ-06)


  • Rep. Ted Deutch (FL-22) Democratic co-chair
  • Rep. Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
  • Rep. Brendan Boyle (PA-02)
  • Rep. Seth Moulton (MA-06)
  • Rep. Scott Peters (CA-52)
  • Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)
  • Rep. Peter Welch (VT-00)
  • Rep. Jim Himes (CT-04)
  • Rep. Don Beyer (VA-08)
  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
  • Rep. Charlie Crist (FL-13)
  • Rep. Juan Vargas (CA-51)
  • Rep. Jerry McNerney (CA-09)
  • Rep. Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
  • Rep. Daniel Lipinski (IL-03)
  • Rep. Thomas Suozzi (NY-03)
  • Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24)
  • Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-05)
  • Rep. Jimmy Panetta (CA-20)
  • Rep. Stacey Plaskett (VI-00)
  • Rep. Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)
  • Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06)
  • Rep. John Larson (CT-01)
  • Rep. Nydia Velazquez (NY-07)
  • Rep. Pete Aguilar (CA-31)
  • Rep. David Cicilline (RI-01)
  • Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
  • Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27)
  • Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-00)
  • Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07)
  • Rep. Ron Kind (WI-03)
  • Rep. Eliot Engel (NY-16)
  • Rep. Robert Scott (VA-03)
  • Rep. Stephen Lynch (MA-08)
  • Rep. Ann Kuster (NH-02)
  • Rep. Matt Cartwright (PA-08)
  • Rep. Stephanie Murphy (FL-07)
  • Rep. Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05)
  • Rep. John Yarmuth (KY-03)
  • Rep. Ami Bera (CA-07)
  • Rep. Mike Doyle (PA-18)

News item from the Citizens’ Climate Lobby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *